Question about gain definitions and such

Discussion in 'Wireless & RF Design' started by rangeralex10, Aug 16, 2016.

1. rangeralex10

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 16, 2016
    Hello all. I've been working in the EE and RF field for a few years now, and currently I'm testing out some amp boxes and rf control units. I'm having an issue with some definition of Gain among my coworkers. We can't agree on how to calculate it for a specific purpose. The test procedure our MEs and SEs came up with asks us to give them the Gain of an RF pathway in the RFCU, but doesn't define what "gain" they're talking about.

Here's a description of the test we run:

Hook up an Agilent Specan input to the RF output on the RFCU with 50db atten in line and the output of a 6GHz siggen straight to the RF input on the RFCU(standard I know, bear with me). Pipe in a 2.4 GHz signal at about 7db input power, it runs through our LNAs, Diplexer, and Bias Tees, through the 50db atten, and reads about -29db on the Specan.

We've been asked to calc gain as (Atten + Specan db) - input power, so the above example would be (50 + -29) - 7 = 14. The spec sheets for the amps we're using state it should be around 35db +/- 5, not 14. So would that be the gain we should be calculating? Or is there a different formula?

I'm sure this is a simple question for some people, but we've been having it out over a week about this and no one can agree. Degrees and experience not withstanding, we all feel pretty dumb about this for some reason.

2. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006