Question about capacitator and LED in serie

lordeos

Joined Jun 23, 2015
Hi Guys,

I'm new at Electronics

Since "the working" of capacitators i started experimenting with them in the hope it would become more clear to me. In fact i get's more mysterius every second.

In the circuit in Picture A (picture included) i connected a 390uf capacitator (elco) in series with a red Led (voltage drop +-1.8) . As expected when i turn on the voltage , the led flashes for a second while the capacitator is charging:

Remarks :

1) In this case the LED is not gradually dimming ... it just flashes on and of --> is this normal ?
2) in the case i put attach the crocodile clamps (source voltage is 4V, as shown in circuit A) my capacitator only charges up to a MAX of 2.5 V and across the LED i have a voltage of 1.3V --> I tought that the capacitator charges up to the same voltage as voltage source, in this case 4 V --> Does anyone knows the reason while it only charges partially ?
3)
In the case i attach the crocodile clamps directly to the + and - pole of the capacitator (Shown in picture circuit B) , the capacitator does charge up to full 4 V ????

If the capacitator is charged (2.5V or 4V) and i remove the battery clamps and replace them by a wire , should't my LED be flashing for a fraction of a second ??? --> discharging capicator ???? Thi doesn't work either ..; the only way to discharge the capacitator (according to my test) is putting a wire directly from + pole to the - pole of the capacitator.

Thx in advance for the help

Regards,
Mike

Attachments

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
1) This is normal -but the LED lights very quickly and goes off quickly because the LED is a low impedance across the capacitor, so it discharges down to a voltage below that needed for the LED to glow visibly. The discharge has a slope but it is so quick that it looks like it goes off instantaneously.

2) That is because the LED is dropping (eating up) some of the voltage from the source.