PWM problems

franzschluter

Joined Jun 1, 2009
Hello this is my first post...
And I am an amateur in electronics...
I do have some understanding with transistors and ICs..
I would really appreciate if you could point out some mistakes (If there are any) in my circuit and guide me to the correct path.
I wish to learn and improve my skills in electronics.
And finally I am aware of the voltages and currents I am talking about.. It can kill me if I go wrong and touch it. This is why I am building it module per module and testing each out with small voltages first before applying the bigger ones.

Anyway.. I am building the same circuit principle as yours for over 2 months as of today.. Though I have tried using a 74LS123 but unsuccessful so far. I have included a partial schematic for making the PWM...

I used LT1057 as pre-amplifier and then AD797 as final stage... Then perhaps optocouple it (If I can find a fast one that can go 100Khz) to a simple mosfet driver circuit using IR2112. If I can't find a fast optocoupler, I'll try conecting directly to the driver.. If it burns I have many spares and the fire extinguisher ready :)...

Experience during my test was... I got squarewave output but the DC and Frequency would not vary.. I am using a very very old ancient oscilloscope during the 80's and I am doubting the output a lot... In any case I will be purchasing a 2nd hand oscilloscope in the next few weeks to recheck my output.

If it still doesn't work I'll test it out first this time on the breadboard... (Tired of etching 6 boards of the same kind so far..)

The schematics do have some mistakes such as the BJT's must be connected to the highside and not lowside.. Since it's NPN and it doesn't seem to want to switch correctly on the low side..