Push buttons from a distance wired or wirelessly

cwinhall

Joined Feb 3, 2013
Hey everyone!

New to the forums here and a TOTAL newbie when it comes to anything electronics, never really given it the light of day before, but I find myself in need of it for a project I am working on and I've spent the last few days trying to research how to do this and have just ended up going round in big square circles.

So here I am, to seek advice.

I have a gigapan epic pro unit (gigapan.org) and I want to be able to press the buttons on the unit wirelessly. There is no support for any kind of remote for the unit unfortuantely, so I am looking for some form of workaround with possibly some kind of robotic arm that can push the buttons physically.

What would be the best way to go about this? The cheaper the better, but if a slightly higher prices gives better functionality, I may be willing to extend the budget.

A little info on the unit, it has 7 buttons, a picture of the unit can be found here;

http://reallyrightstuff.com/mmRRSNET/Images/gallery/GPCB-in-use.png

It doesnt need much force to press these buttons at all really. What I would love is some kind of controller or joystick to use for the arrow keys with 3 other buttons for the others... IDEAL!

Look forward to hearing your suggestions! :)

Thanks for taking the time to read this all :eek::cool:

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
It would be possible to build an assembly of seven solenoids arranged so that each solenoid, when activated, would push one of the seven buttons. The solenoids could be controlled remotely via an RF link. How do you plan to know which buttons to push and when? In other words, do you need feedback on the camera's orientation?

That's the good news. The bad news is that it would be quite a complex electromechanical project that would take a lot of detailed design work. But given the cost of the pan unit, maybe you have several hundred to spend.

cwinhall

Joined Feb 3, 2013
Thanks for the reply.