Push Button Lights - HELP PLEASE

MullJess

Joined Nov 28, 2012
I'm looking to build a pole with running lights that will lead up to a star. I want to be able to push a button, and without holding it in, keep the circuit functioning. I want the lights to run up the pole, light the star, then shut off.

How do I accomplish this with as simple of a solution as possible as I'm no Electrical Engineer?

I'm having a party for my daughter and it's a "magical wonderland" themed party. I want the girls to be able to stand infront of the star and make a wish. Then they would push and let go of a button and the lights will circle up the pole to light the star then go out... like the wish has been sent to be granted...

Please help..

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What kind of lights are you thinking of? Possibly LEDs?
How many lights total?

The simple solution will require a lot of wires leading up the pole.

The elegant solution will require only three wires going up the pole.
However, this would require putting a small microcontroller on every LED.

How much lead time do you have to do this?

MullJess

Joined Nov 28, 2012
The lead time I have is a couple weeks.

No, I do not have any materials as I did not know what should be bought.

Initial thought was spiraling strings of LED christmas lights up to an LED Christmas star.

I just didn't know how to make it function.

The idea I have, the working knowledge of electrical functions I don't.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
It is not a bad idea.

Building it would require knowledge of microcontroller programming.
Since you are possibly talking about a number of LEDs, you would need a PCB layout and as many very tiny circuit boards.

A knowledgeable designer can get this done in two weeks, otherwise, nice idea but not in two weeks for someone starting out fresh.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008