Push button detection through a very long wire

cmartinez

Joined Jan 17, 2007
I've been designing special controllers for a few years now, and the one thing that gives me a headache every now and then is when I need to read a push-button connected to the circuit through a very long wire... say, 20 meters long.

Since 5V was being such an annoyance due to spurious detection, I decided to switch to a 12V signal that would arrive at the MCU's input through a shielded cable (whose shield is grounded at one side only, to prevent a ground loop), and into a voltage divider formed by R1 and R2, as shown in the following figure.

PB01.JPG

C1 is there to help de-bounce the switch and to further minimize false detections.
This modification improved things significantly.

The circuit, however, still gets false readings every once in a long while, and I'm beginning to feel that the wire arriving into R1 from the push-button is acting as an antenna of sorts... so I figure that adding a weak pull-down (that is, R3 in the following figure) should improve things further.

PB02.JPG

Am I right in this last assumption? O is there a better way to accomplish what I'm trying to do?

cmartinez

Joined Jan 17, 2007
Excellent tip, Joey, thanks!
Question: you said The circuit *will not* alleviate the need for software debouncing, if you haven't done it.
Can the circuit be debounced using a simple cap? Or will I be forced to do it through software?
Never mind, Joey. I've already read the whole thread and now I understand your opinion on this issue.... thanks again!

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
You may want to add some resistance at the switch end. I have been told that discharging the capacitance of a long cable can burn the contacts on the switch.

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
You may want to add some resistance at the switch end. I have been told that discharging the capacitance of a long cable can burn the contacts on the switch.