Pulse divider

spmcgann

Joined Apr 15, 2013
My current project requires division of a tachometer input from a Hall effect sender. My first attempt was with a 4013 chip and the division by 2 has been successful.

My next evolution is to divide by 20 using a 4017 and a 4013 (see attached).

Ultimately, I'd like to also get a divide by 8.8 using the 4017's and dividing by 88 the multiplying by 10 with a 40192.

All circuits use 12 vdc with 3-18v CMOS chips.

Also, I'm not an engineer so forgive any blatantly obvious mistakes but please do offer any better designs. I'd like this to be as bulletproof as possible.

Any suggestions are welcome!

Attachments

spmcgann

Joined Apr 15, 2013

Attachments

Last edited:

spmcgann

Joined Apr 15, 2013
How were you planning on multiplying by 10 using a 40192?

Have you considered using a microcontroller?
I was going to use the count up side of the chip.
I haven't much experience with microcontrollers so I really have no basis for reference. Like I said, I'm open to any ideas.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Let's take a step back and be sure that we are on the same page as to what your eventual goal is.

Correct me where I am wrong, here.

You have a tachometer that outputs pulses and you want to convert that information to a binary value with the appropriate scaling factor.

Now, what is this scaling factor? Is it that if the tachometer output is putting out 8.8 pulses per second you want the binary vallue to be 1? If not, what relationship are you looking to achieve?

spmcgann

Joined Apr 15, 2013
Let's take a step back and be sure that we are on the same page as to what your eventual goal is.

Correct me where I am wrong, here.

You have a tachometer that outputs pulses and you want to convert that information to a binary value with the appropriate scaling factor.