PSU transformmer melted

Potato

Joined Sep 10, 2014
Newbie here, this is my very first post

First of all I am not familiar with electronics, that is why I am here seeking help

Yesterday my desktop computer stopped working. I unplugged everything to check, and found that the PSU (Power Supply Unit) has fried

I did a visual check on the motherboard and could find no sign of short circuit or whatnots, and the "smell test" also turned up no "burnt smell"

I opened up that fried PSU and found that the plastic insulation over the transformer has "melted", actually not "melt" per se, it's that it has "dark brown lines" on that yellow plastic shrink wrap

Back to the desktop. I could easily change the PSU and power up the machine, but before I do that, I need to make sure nothing else is wrong, that is why I am here

Can anyone tell me what makes the PSU transformer melted ?

Sorry, for some background. My PSU is a 550 watt brand name PSU, and my desktop is a simple 4 core intel chip (non-turbo, non-overclock) setup, with one HD and one DVD drive. I do not use any GPU card, relying on the on-board GPU processing

I use the desktop for normal spreadsheet / word processing and do not watch movies nor do any fancy things on the machine

Back to the main concern --- What is/are the possible causes that can melt my 550-watt brand-name PSU's transformer?

If I put in a new PSU would it be safe? Or would the same thing happen?

I thank you in advance for any suggestion / idea that you can share

Thanks again !

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
So the yellow shrink wrap band is much less of an issue than the "Transformer melting". The amount of anti-oxide in the plastic film is the question here. Plastics will turn yellow/tan in any warm area. New power supplies have components that will see 85+ degrees. Many films will yellow at those temps over time.

Send a photo.

Power supplies die all the time. It probably has nothing to do with the yellowing transformer wrap.

tom_s