PSpice and MacSpice

Tom O'Leary

Joined Apr 9, 2014
I'm new to PSpice and I'm working on a project for school. My professor sent me a .CIR file that he created in MacSpice so I could get used to the programming style and try to run it on my computer. The problem is I have a PC so I'm using PSpice, not MacSpice. When I try to run his file I get a whole bunch of error notifications.

Is there any way to run his MacSpice file in PSpice? Or is there a way to download MacSpice without downloading an Apple OS onto my laptop? I have very limited access to Macs so using PSPice would be very beneficial for me. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Tom

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Doubt there's any way you can run MacSpice on your PC. But you should be able to look at the errors and determine what needs to be changed to run the circuit on Pspice.

Last edited:

Tom O'Leary

Joined Apr 9, 2014
Yeah that's what I figured. I can see the errors, but since I don't know much about PSpice or programming in general I'm having a hard time figuring out how to fix the problems. Thanks though.

Tom O'Leary

Joined Apr 9, 2014
Here is an excerpt from the output file after I ran the simulation:

ERROR -- Missing model
Xvent 30 par_sin par_Emax par_Ediastole par_vent_Tsys par_HR par_sigma par_sin2 par_harmonic2 Cventricle

* outlet valve diode
Dvent_out 30 1

**** SUBCIRCUIT DEFINITION SECTION

--------------$
ERROR -- Missing model
.SUBCKT Cventricle 4 par_sin par_Emax par_Ediastole par_Tsys par_HR par_sigma par_sin2 par_harmonic2

* Bx: Non-linear dependent source
* Calculate f(input voltage) - this voltage is equal to the non-linear compliance which is the reciprocal of elastance
* - the positive part of a sine wave. u = unit step function
Bx 1 0 V = v(4)/(v(par_Ediastole) + (v(par_Emax)-v(par_Ediastole))*(v(par_sin) -v(par_sin2)*v(par_harmonic2))*
0.77*u(v(par_sin))*(1+v(par_sigma)*i(vx)))
$
ERROR -- Invalid device in subcircuit