Proximity Sensor Project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by mogi88, Aug 3, 2008.

1. mogi88

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 3, 2008
    Hi forum readers. I'm new to electronics but am dying to make this gadget.

I carry my bikes on a roof rack, which can be hazardous if you accidentally drive beneath something that has low clearance, as I did recently. This happens a lot with people carrying their bikes on top, so I figured a simple proximity sensor would help keep that from occurring.

The sensor would easily clip on to the handlebars of the bike that is mounted on the roof of the car, and is directed forward. When it senses something - a low hanging carport, for instance, at a given preset distance it turns on an alarm so that the driver is reminded to stop. The alarm will sit on the dashboard and will be connected to the sensor via a long wire that runs across the seal of the door. The alarm needs to have have an on/off switch.

Questions:
    1. Is infrared or sonar a better proximity sensor considering that this will be used outdoors in a moving vehicle and in sometimes rainy/snowing weather. I was considering the LV-MaxSonar-EZ0 proximity sensor. Other suggestions?
    2. Is anyone able to help me wire the alarm portion? I know this is pretty simple, but I am a total novice.
    3. Any comments about a power source? Battery vs. drawing from the lighter jack in the car?

Thanks.

2. AlexR

Jan 16, 2008
    Given the average driver reaction times and car stopping distances (see this link) I very much doubt that a proximity sensor would be of much use.
    I think you would find that by the time a sensor detects a low obstacle and sound the alarm you will just have time to glance up at the rear-view mirror to see your bike (or parts thereof) flying backwards at a great rate of knot towards the road surface and/or any other following vehicles.

3. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008
    1) At what maximum distance do you want to detect the low object?