Proportional hydraulic valves - digger

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by GerryR, May 21, 2014.

1. GerryR

Thread Starter New Member

May 21, 2014
    Hi,
    I have a mitsibushi 4 ton digger and the electronic valve controller was stolen from it which renders all the joystick functions useless. Apparently this was an imported machine and the part is not even available in Japan, where it originated from. Caterpillar parts are not compatible either.

I have managed to get schematics and info on the system and I would like to bypass this missing part. The potentiometer joysticks operate on a 5v circuit putting out a range from 0.35v to 4.65v. The bank of 4 proportional valves however are activated by 10 – 12 volts. Can anyone suggest a circuit or a system to replace the missing part. I am a computer technician so I should be able to do some limited technical work on it.

I would be most grateful if you can help,

Thank you

Gerry

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    These proportional valves are usually operated with ±10vdc analogue controllers.
    In your case is sounds like ±5vdc for the input.
    Is the original system a closed loop type, IOW is there a feedback from the cylinders etc.
    Or does the joystick move the cylinders in a speed proportional to the joystick and when the stick is released the cylinder is locked, hydraulically?
    A little H bridge PWM controller with a 555 PWM generator may be the answer.
    Max.

Last edited: May 21, 2014
  3. GerryR

May 21, 2014
    Thanks for your prompt reply.