Project that has reverse polarity to motor

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Jonnieb2013, Apr 21, 2013.

1. Jonnieb2013

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 19, 2013
    Hello,

Real novice here so excuse me.

I am undertaking a project which involves sending current to a 12v motor. I then need to swap two wires over to reverse polarity to get the motor to run the other way. I have attached simple diagram of what I need to achieve.

My question is, is there a way of doing this via a relay so that when I push the switch it powers the motor and it runs in one direction and then push it again it reverses the direction?

If that is possible then is there a way of getting a timed relay for say 4 seconds as I want the motor to run for 4 seconds as soon as I push the button and release it?

Your help is appreciated
    :)

project.jpg

2. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012
    You need a circuit with 4 transistors (preferably MOSFETS ) with 2 n type and 2 P-types known as an H-Bridge.

Google " H-Bridge" for a good starting point. Your drawing is definately in the right direction.

3. Jonnieb2013

Apr 19, 2013
    Thanks

The red + wire has to be the same wire for each circuit so this is the common wire, so then I need an H bridge relay, not a DPDT relay?

Thankyou for your help.:)

4. Jonnieb2013

Apr 19, 2013
    Would a dpdt momentary rocker switch work by any chance, without the need for a relay or H bride?
    MONENTARY ROCKER SW DPDT R13-87 16A 125VAC W2RS-SC.JPG

Ideally I would use my existing switch, with this in mind would I then need the relay/H bridge (DPDT ?)

How would I wire it up?

:)

5. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    A DPDT switch or relay will work to reverse the motor. Just wire the motor to the wiper of each pole. Wire one side of each NO contact to the power. Then cross-wire a jumper from the NC contact on one pole to the NO contact of the other pole. Do the same for the other NC and NO pole.