Project help please!

SWiFt

Joined Apr 11, 2011
Hey guys,

I am working on making an automatic Dog Door, one that will open when my dog walks up to it, but won't open for other animals. I know how to get it to open but I have never done any wireless stuff before. So I was wondering how would you recommend I get the door to detect my dog, I thought about using IR LEDs (on the dog collar) and sensors on the door but that won't really work in bright light.

As RFID and RF seem like two viable options can you guys link me to a good tutorial or something to get me started as I don't know anything about them.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Have you tried Google? Try "RFID dog door". Lots of stuff to see.

IR isn't as good a strategy due to the power required to keep the LED lit. With RFID, power comes from the door, not the pet.

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009
I have a magnet on my cats collar. And a magnetic lock on the door. It's funny to see when my cat is being chased by another, and my cat gets in, but the other don't...

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I have a magnet on my cats collar. And a magnetic lock on the door. It's funny to see when my cat is being chased by another, and my cat gets in, but the other don't...
What detects the cat's magnet? I'm a little surprised this works reliably. Great if it does.

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009
It's a small metal plate. When the magnet is close enough, the plate is forced to the magnet, and a little hook is letting the door go in. It's all mechanical. When the cat, which has the name Carmen, goes away, the weight of the metal plate is pushing the hook up. The same thing happens with Carmens daughter, Electra....

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009