Project Help - Braille

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Mehrab, Oct 1, 2012.

1. Mehrab

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 1, 2012
    Hello.
    I'm a new member and perhaps this has been mentioned before but I couldn't find anything.

I'm in my final year of my Diploma and I have to come up with a project. What I wanted to do was a braille reader.

A device that will take input (just individual alphabet for now) from a device (I have no idea what I'm going to use) and then converts that digital signal into a device that has 6 pins which push out depending on which letter it is.

I have access to a PicIt2 USB programmer by Microchip and the software that it comes with to program a 8085 chip.

I can use basic else statements to program the chip to check for a value.

I'm going to use 6 motors with gears to push the pins up or down.

As of now I have no idea how I'm going to input the data. I was thinking of fabricating a box with 26 buttons each representing a letter of the alphabet. But I would like to create something with a qwerty keyboard.

I'm more stuck on trying to figure out how to get the input from a user rather than anything else. If I can find a device that transmits directly from a computer via usb, then that'll be ideal.

Any help?

2. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
  3. Mehrab

Oct 1, 2012
    oh that is awesome.. I hadn't even thought of using a Ps2 keyboard.. and the fact that it sends a hex signal is perfect. I'll look through this tonight and try to make sense of it all.

I dont have a lot of knowledge and education behind this so I'm learning as I go, please pardon any silly questions I may ask.

What would be a good LCD display to get?

Also, I'm assuming I need to get a 89S51 chip and fabricate a board to have a PS2 connector?

4. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    Any microcontroller should be able to communicate with a PS2 keyboard.