Project Desgin - opinions requested

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by dasandru, Jan 31, 2009.

1. dasandru

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 31, 2009
    Hello, I am a computer engineer working on a project that gives a location based on a RF signal. My responsibility is to design and build the electronics processing unit. The only knowledge I have about this is what they have taught me in school, which is next to nothing when it comes to real world application. I have programmed microcontroller development boards before and FPGA development boards, but nothing to this extreme.

What I am looking for is ideas on how to approach this design. I have looked around at several microcontrollers, and A/D convertors. I also believe that I am going to need a RS-232 connection to transfer my code to the microcontroller (which I don't fully understand how that will work. I assume I need to program the ROM with some translation utility). There is also the matter of connecting an LCD screen to the output. This design must be put on a PCB for implementation with the rest of the project.

The signal is coming from a RSSI chip, which is collecting a signal from an antenna. The memory will store a RSSI lookup table, and arctan lookup table for calculating position.

Any suggestions on controllers that people have used, or are very easy to understand, or ways I should approach this would be much appreciated. I have never done anything at this high of a level. The only schematics ever designed were with resistors and capacitors and such. Also information on how to get the code onto the microcontroller for execution would be helpful. I hope that people understand that I am not asking for a completed design, but a direction to get me started, or information to help me understand what I need to do.
  2. thingmaker3

Retired Moderator

May 16, 2005