'Project:' 12-Watt Amplifier

kbyrne

Joined Dec 10, 2011
:D Hi I am new to the hobby and need help with a Amplifier Design that I have been working on. I have schematics to post taken with a Internet camera and Jing in jpeg format but don't know about your site and how to upload pictures
like I have viewed. How do I do That? The box the amplifier is in now is a plastic home constructed but the problem is it has hum. I want to change the box to metal but need info In grounding two power supply boards to the floor near the three prong plug green wire. There are two transformers 24ACV @ 2 Amps each
going into two power supply boards one power supply board is for one Amplifier board and the other power supply board is for the other amplifier board.
Question: can a positive and ground supply be hog pointed behind the filter capacitors to close by the (green) wire or on top of the (green) wire for inside of the box Grounding purposes? I am only a home hobbiest and very inexperienced in electronics and computers. Thankyou.

Last edited:

Infinite

Joined Dec 26, 2011
Hello Kbyrne,
'hog pointed' , LOL. Generally, an amp or any electrical device has the green wire from the AC plug, which is ground,connected to the case. If it's a plastic case then don't connect it to anything. You have 2 transformers, one for each amp so that's perfect for checking the amps voltages against each other.
It uses 2 xfmrs so you have enough power for each amp.
Seems to me that you don't know if the problem is the green ground wire, the power supply, or your amps.
You could try this-1: temporarily disconnect the green ground wire. You only need the black and white to get 120 volts to the power supply.