Programming Micro Controllers

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by droggie, Jan 6, 2013.

1. droggie

Thread Starter Member

Oct 21, 2012
    I'm fairly new to microcontrollers. I'm learning Arduino which I find fairly easy. However I would like to know what the most common method of programming standard alone micro controllers is. Is there a universal board that mounts microcontrollers and connects to the cpu via USB? An example of a microcontroller I'd like to use is this CD4518 which I would like to connect with a seven segment display in the future.
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  2. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    The CD4518 is a digital counter and not a micro controller.

Generally every family of micros may need a custom method and hardware to program it. Very often this uses a USB bus.
  3. droggie

Thread Starter Member

Oct 21, 2012
    I thought digital counters were the same as micro controllers. Do digital counters still need to be programmed manually?
  4. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    No, the 4000 series CMOS logic chips and 74xx series of TTL/CMOS logic are packaged gates. Non-Programmable. They behave exactly as their datasheet states they will.

There isn't a way to change the internal behavior of a 74xx or 4000 series IC, some have options brought out to pins which are "programmed" by putting a high or low signal on that pin.

Microcontrollers are typically PIC or AVR. The part numbers for PIC are PIC16F... or PIC18F... with some PIC24 and PIC32. AVR are the ATmega 128/328, ATTiny <number>, and 8051 (89C51 or similar) part numbers.

PIC use a PICKit2/3 ICSP (In Cicruit Serial Programming) programmer which works only with PIC controllers, while AVRs use a JTAG like ICSP progammer, which mostly only works with AVR (though some FPGA JTAG programming tools can be used to program an AVR, the reverse is not true).