programmer choice help

homemade

Joined May 6, 2008
Help in making a choice.
I'm a hobbyist and have been programming for about 3 years using the pickit 1 starter kit
using Pic Basic Pro and the only chips I have programed or the 12f629/75 and 16f630 /76
and have really enjoyed my home made projects. but I feel I've missed out on some of the learning curve.
along with I'm working on a project. were I would need to move of to the PIC16F84A or maybe the PIC16F628,
and from what I have read need to use Assembly because of the tight timing needed (lanC protocol)
So For My new adventure I would Like to build my oun programmer and learn assembly
and looking @ options on the internet there is more option than I need.

being a hobbyist and staying with a small list of chips I don't need all the bells and whistles
just the basics
no need for ICSP - In Circuit Serial Programmer. for the stuff I do.
but good online tech support COULD be a big help
I was looking @ the simple JDM and then read that you can have trouble when using the intosc

"However, an issue has arisen lately with some of the new PIC's, eg PIC12F675, 12F629, and some others with an internal
oscillator."
like in the the chips I use now have. so I now not sure about that one.
and I sometime use a laptop and I read this some were

"Important note: If you are using a laptop then don't use a pic programmer
that is powered from the serial port itself as there may not be enough
power/voltage available from it."

The programming software IC-Prog seams to be the top choice from what I read any comments on that?
learning to program in assembly is going to hard enough I don't need to compound the problem with program problems
so any and all advice is welcome
thank
homemade

n9352527

Joined Oct 14, 2005