Programmable Thermostat

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by jenxin, Dec 5, 2012.

1. jenxin

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 26, 2012
    My final project for my micro controllers class. I'll be posting in here to ask for help. This will be my second program done in C. The goal is to make a thermostat that can be programmed(time based).

So far I have implemented my thermistor and converted the values into Fahrenheit. The LCD screen is implemented properly(thanks guys!), and my keypad is implemented. I'm still fairly new to C, but it's coming along pretty well. I will post my ideas here, and if you have an idea on improving mine, please share. Thanks!

So onto the project..
    I've heard of a time.h that can be imported. My LCD should display the current time while no settings are being changed. My initial idea was to have a minutes counter and a hour counter. My flag for AM/PM can be switched with a keypress. The user enters 12:47 and makes it PM, then that will be the time. I was going to do all the incrementing in background.

I am using a HCS12C - MC9S12C32 board. Using a seiko 16x2 LCD. and a regular 4x4 matrix keypad.

2. rstevenson

Apr 5, 2011
    not knowing much about your board but generally time is kept better using a real time clock instead of a microcontroller. Good luck!

3. jenxin

Nov 26, 2012
    I finished the whole project already, but can anyone explain how to use the clock interrupt to keep track of time? Not sure how to set it up. I used the delay methods and incremented my counter whenever a min passed.

4. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009
    Well it is easier with an RTC since it is all done for you. But you could roll your own. Just set up an interrupt timer for once a second. Have a counter for seconds minutes, hours, days, months, years.

5. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009
    Also if you can't do a 1 second delay just do a millisecond delay and add another counter.