Process automation

sedanprod

Joined Jan 18, 2009
Hi Guys ,its my first time doing such a project. Im in Africa and really dont have any experience practically, but the theoreticalm aspect is well covered.
im dealing with a water treatment plant and my job is to automate the whole process. After studying it, i realized it would be feasible if a designed a batch process, with valves and pumps as intermidiaries to each stage. each holding tank would need sensors to study its xteristics at any time(t).

i think the first stage would be to automate the opening and closing of the valves, switching on and off the pumps (coreespondingly).
second would be to create an interface whereby it could be controlled maybe from a PDA or a simple computer.most likey a GUI.

the problem is that i think i have to choices ,
using micro controllers to do the job , (( unfortunately i didn't learn them yet))
or by using analog parts like op-amp ( as integrator , Differentiator ,and so on )
pertaining the GUI interface...i have no ideas at all.i know about PLDs and PICs but as i said earlier on...in my part of the world i have no hands-on-experience..atleast engineering wise.

HELP!!!...PLEASE...

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
What is the general operation of the plan? At what circumstances the valves have to be opened/closed? Describe it a bit.

loosewire

Joined Apr 25, 2008
Are you going to be working with fresh potent water,will the source
be well.Are you building the plant,do you have c- license.more infomation
will be useful.do have a working plant,or are doing irrigation. I am trying
to q-factor your location,salt water by sea or land location. More info
please.

sedanprod

Joined Jan 18, 2009
More info: its a water treatment plant. I'll be needing to build a small prototype of the whole system, something that can later be integrated into the real plant.

The system is divide into 3 main parts: