Problem with JetDirect card?

Discussion in 'Computing and Networks' started by spinnaker, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    I just got a printer in from eBay and I am thinking I made a mistake.

    Among other things I am having a problem with the JetDIrect card.

    I am getting a green connect light on the JetJirect and a green connect light on the router. But I am not seeing an activity light on either.

    I cannot ping the printer.

    I can print a test page and config page on the printer.

    Is there something I need to do with the router to get it to see the the pronter or should it pretty much just connect?
     
  2. BMorse

    Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    2,675
    234
    What model JetDirect do you have? Does the printer connect via Parallel cable or is it USB??
     
  3. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
  4. BMorse

    Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    2,675
    234

    The JetDirect is a Network Print Server, it will connect to the network while the printer itself can be Parallel or USB, this in turn connects to the printer so the printer can be used as a network printer. See more here if you are not familiar with these devices >>> http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF02a/18972-18972-236253.html
     
  5. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    Ok. thanks. The only HP ive had much experience was the 5000..a 60" inkjet. that printer connected directly with ethernet.

    If he is talking about the P1005 he bought for PCBing, it has a USB2.0 for connectivity.
     
  6. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    The LJ is a 2100.

    The interface card is a 610n

    I connected direct to the PC and same problem.


    I t with a USB parallel cable that does not seem to be working. I imagine I need drivers.


    I'm confused.

    Do I need to hook it up to the USB / parallel on one PC? Or should it work straight off the network?
     
  7. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    Some work off the network, some need a PC to spool to the printer. Check to see if there are any options in the firmware for network on/off options. They may be off. Does the PC find the printer when you hook it direct with USB?
     
  8. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    No as I said. The printer itself does not have a USB port. It came with a lame USB to parallel converter. That cable does not seem to work.

    I should at least see an activity light when I hook to the ehternet port correct?

    I hooked the printer to an old PC with a parallel port. It does print from there but the printout is very washed out. I doubt it will print well enough for toner transfer.
    It is supposed to be a 6 week old cartridge.
     
  9. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    TCP/IP shows as ready on the config printout page.
     
  10. BMorse

    Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    2,675
    234
    For the Printer to work off of the JetDirect, you have to install the JetDirect Drivers and then install the printer as a network printer using the printer drivers....

    You can check out the Installation/Troubleshooting for the JetDirect here >> http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...rodTypeId=18972&prodSeriesId=27347&taskId=115


    According to the printer specs, that it has an expansion port for a JetDirect 600N, so the JetDirect came with the printer??

     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2010
  11. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    HPs site stinks big time. They make it so hard to find anything.

    Yes it is a JetDirect card that plus into an expansion port.

    Before I install anything, I should at least be able to ping the printer. And that is not happening.
     
  12. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    But I am thinking I am wasting my time anyway. The printout is horrible. Very washed out. I think I bought a $30.99 boat anchor.
     
  13. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    Got the print quality issue fixed. There was an extra roller that U had no idea where it wen finally figured it out and it improved things dramatically.

    I can see from the config sheet that the printer is receiving and transmitting packets (the packet count is changing).

    But still cannot get it to respond to the Jet Admin utility.
     
  14. BMorse

    Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    2,675
    234
    Is the JetDirect connected through a router to your PC? If it is, are you using an RJ45 Patch cable or a crossover cable?

    What operating System do you have installed on the PC? (XP, Vista, etc.)
     
  15. BMorse

    Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    2,675
    234
    Aparently, you will need the cdrom for the printer and / or the jetdirect cd...

     
  16. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    Thanks for all of your help.

    To answer some of your questions.

    I am running Windows XP.

    The printer is connected to the router via a straight through patch cable.

    The light on the router and jet direct card light up when connected so I know I have a good connection.

    But I cannot ping the jetdirect.



    I then hooked the jetdirect straight to the PC via a crossover cable. Please see related post.

    Same thing saw a connection light. I setup the PCs with a satic ip and added a route the the jetdirect ip with route add 10.25.90.21 myipaddress. No ping.

    I tried both PCs. No ping.


    I then connected both PCs together to make sure I had everything setup right. After adding a route to the 2nd PC I was able to ping.


    I am thinking that the jetdirect to toast. I think we have an ethernet jetdirect card at work. I will see if I can borrow it to see if I have the same problem.

    I contacted the seller and he admits that he was not using the jetdirect but a 3rd party print server. His add said everything worked.

    He is going to need to resolve this.

    The big problem is that it seems like his first language is something other than English.
     
  17. BMorse

    Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    2,675
    234
    It seems as if someone else tried to connect a JD 610N and a LJ2100 here is their discussion on the problem I found on HP's site:


     
  18. spinnaker

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    Thanks saw this same post. :) That is where I got the route idea. :)


    Thanks for doing all of that searching!
     
Loading...