Problem with DC motor control

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Henkie001, Jun 27, 2011.

1. Henkie001

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 26, 2011
    Dear ppl,

I'm trying to build a PWM DC motor control. It is more or less a copy of a Chinese motor control unit for just one motor. In our application we need 1 control for two motors.

Found different schematics on inet and copied the power equipment from the print of the chinees model(that was broken).

PWM looks ok (in my opinion) but the problem that occurs is that every time I'm testing, one of the fets brakes, flames. The motor wil run for a while and the fets don't get hot or even warm.

When 1 brakes the others are not damaged.

I'm not an expert and the application notes that I found will take me weeks to understand. I have measured the frequency on an other Chinese print, without opening it, on the motor side and that was about 12,5 Khz. In first I was afraid that my 13Khz was to high, switching that often with this power....But in the end this seems to be normal.

On other parts of this forum I read that the frequency is put this high to prevent noise. Is this really the reason? What is a minimum frequency to drive a DC motor of 1000Watt?

I have looked on the edge of the PWM and that looks pretty sharp. I suppose this should be to prevent a lot of power being dissipated.

On the Chinese print I saw an small elco near the transistor? I Suppose this is meant to drive the FET directly in operation???

On my first design I mounted the fets on the print against a heatsink. But this was difficult to build and after my fist burn I planned to make the PWM board different from the power unit.

The connection is made by unshielded cables and as I read problems that can occur due to cap difference in the Fets I think this can be my problem.