Pressure-activated circuit

anasasisxenophontis

Joined Apr 18, 2010
I'm working on a circuit for an automotive application. It will use the voltage output from a manifold absolute pressure sensor to activate a relay and turn on a solenoid. I'm rather new to circuits, so I'm unsure of what diode and resistor to use in the circuit.
I want the V-out to run through a zener diode so that the relay will only activate when the MAP sensor passes enough voltage to the diode. The input of the MAP sensor/relay side of the circuit is 5v @ 850mA.

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005
The output of the sensor is a varying analog signal. It is not suitable to drive a relay.

You need to use a comparator IC (such as an LM311) to compare the senor output voltage to a reference value from a preset resistor (potentiometer).

The comparator can then in turn control a transistor to switch the relay power.

anasasisxenophontis

Joined Apr 18, 2010
I have the sensor hooked up to vacuum lines and a multimeter in a mock-up of the real circuit, and the output of the sensor is undoubtedly a DC signal. I held a pressure of about 5psi on the line to the sensor for several minutes and the voltage did not fluctuate even a hundreth of a volt. The pressure rise in the actual setup will be linear DC, or at worst exponential, but certainly not analog.

Last edited:

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005
It is a sensor designed to send a signal to a measuring circuit (ie. an engine management system), it is not designed to feed any significant current to anything.

Analog means the signal is represented by a varying voltage (or current) as opposed to a switched or digital signal.

Reading the sensor signal with a digital multimeter requires it to supply something less than one millionth of an amp.

A relay that works on 5V would need something like a tenth of an amp (100mA).

A typical analog sensor can give possibly 10mA continuously. Any more and at best you lose accuracy and worst case you burn it out.