Practical Motors - beginner question

M11

Joined Dec 27, 2010
Hi,

I am working on a project where I have to use a DC motor. I have never used a motor before. How can I make sure that the maximum current does not exceed a certain value ?
I have not chosen the value of the voltage supply yet.

also, if someone can explain the parameters in the motor plate in details I would really appreciate it. I have searched about it, but all the websites I found explain how to do the theoretical calculations only.

Thanks,

Last edited:

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
The current a motor draws is related to the amount of loading the shaft has (torque requirements).

What current did you want to limit? Typically, the driver circuit is designed to be capable of the anticipated power levels that the motor will need.

More insight as to the project may help with recommendations on the motor and the driving circuitry.

ashish19183

Joined Sep 16, 2009
which kind of motor do you wanna use?? can you tell me the specs

you want to run in one direction or bi-directional ?????

in DC motors u can use resister shunt to monitor current of motor

and you can vary motor speed by PWM control .... if yo give motor details i can

help u in better way

M11

Joined Dec 27, 2010
Thank you guys for your response.

The project is to build an RC plane. The current through the motor circuit must not exceed 20A. There are no constraints on other parameters. I had a look at nearby hobby store, and I found a motor that can deliver a reasonable speed. The specs of the motor are given below. I can afford to buy online, so if you have any suggestions for any motor please inform me.
Thanks,
motor:
Technical Specifications for Hacker A20-22L

• Motor Type: Brushless, Outrunner
  • Weight: 57g (2.01 oz)
  • Power: 200 Watts
  • RPM/Volt (KV): 924
  • Continuous Current: 6-14A
  • Burst Current: 17A
  • Recommended Propeller: APC 10x4.7
  • Recommended Lithium Polymer Battery: TP-1350-3SPL2 or TP-2100-3SPL2