Powering neons with remote & switch?

nighthawk70

Joined Mar 7, 2008
Total newbie here!!! I was wondering if someone could help me with a question I have. I would like to be able to power my underbody neons by either using a switch that's in the car (it's a lighted switch), or by the aux. button on my remote starter. I believe I would need to use a relay...but I'm just not positive on how everything would hookup. I'm attaching a diagram below...if someone could tell me how I would go about hooking this up I would really appreciate it. I wasn't sure if I would also need to use diodes?

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You can likely use a relay (with a reverse-EMF protection diode across the relay's coil), but first you need to give a bit more information so that a proper size relay can be selected and the diode polarity shown correctly:

1) Remote aux output - does this output alternate between "open" (infinite resistance) and "ground", or "open" and "+12v"?

2) What is the current (amps) or power (in Watts) rating of the remote aux output? (fuse rating would be perfect)

3) How much current or power (Watts) does your neon distribution block require? (the size of the fuse the neon installation manual told you to use is perfect)

nighthawk70

Joined Mar 7, 2008
You can likely use a relay (with a reverse-EMF protection diode across the relay's coil), but first you need to give a bit more information so that a proper size relay can be selected and the diode polarity shown correctly:

1) Remote aux output - does this output alternate between "open" (infinite resistance) and "ground", or "open" and "+12v"?

2) What is the current (amps) or power (in Watts) rating of the remote aux output? (fuse rating would be perfect)

3) How much current or power (Watts) does your neon distribution block require? (the size of the fuse the neon installation manual told you to use is perfect)

Thank you SgtWookie...hopefully these answer your questions: