Powering multiple (50) USB devices

awwwt

Joined Aug 24, 2015
Hello everyone!

A bit about my project-

I am doing an art project where a sound is triggered when you walk past an ultrasonic proximity sensor (the HC-SR04). To do this I am using a cheap Arduino Nano, an Mp3 module with an SD card, and one of these speakers.

In total there will be 25 sounds, which means I’ll be using 25 Arduino nanos and 25 speakers that need power via USB. I’m testing them at the moment from my computer’s USB ports and everything seems to be working fine, however for the exhibit I will need 50 ports, so I need to find a fail-safe way of powering everything.

I’m currently debating whether to get a bunch of powered USB hubs, much like this one. What I’d like to know is whether this is possible given the specs of what I’m plugging in. I’ve tried to work it out but I’m really new to electronics and really need assurance that this is the most efficient way to do things.. if there is a better way I’m super open to suggestions!!df

I have attached an image of my current set-up if this helps at all.

Hope this all makes sense and thanks very much!

diagrams.gif

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
First- sort out how much current your circuit requires when playing full volume.

You can probably power the whole thing from one cheap 5V power supply, just be sure to use heavy gauge wire if the runs are long.
Calculate the maximum current required to run all of them, buy a power unit rated for 150% of that load.
It might also be wise to include a capacitor at every circuit to keep things stable, try a 100 uf 16V low ESR cap on each one.
Connect them close to the circuit, across the 5V input leads.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
Jeez, do you really need to play 50 different sounds independently? Buying fifty of each seems like a huge investment.

TheButtonThief

Joined Feb 26, 2011