Powering 3 devices with varying voltage/amps - cheap and effective?

draynoe

Joined Jun 29, 2015
Hi everyone,

I just wanted to start by saying I appreciate any help anyone can give on this topic as I am completely new to electronics/circuits etc.!

The project I am attempting to implement is wiring up a 10.1" LCD monitor that utilizes a control board with a Raspberry Pi 2 to my car's current power and head unit. I would like to convert the HDMI audio out to RCA R/L audio (which plugs into the rear aux port on the head unit via a R/L to 3.5mm cable that I already have). I'll like the main items below that I would like to use.

The problem is that I have no real understanding of electrical wiring or electricity in general so I wanted to get your opinions on the best (and hopefully cheapest) way to power the following items in my car. I have looked around a lot and tried to read about powering multiple devices with different voltage/amp requirements, but I can't seem to grasp or find a real answer to my specific situation.

Basically, I would really like to power all 3 of these devices from 1 power source (I am assuming 12v in the car somewhere that would only turn on when the car is running) and supply the appropriate voltage/amperes to each device as to not damage them. Also, I want to install some type of power switch or toggle on the Pi's power cable so it doesn't just shut off when the car does; I've done this on my home Pi and it works just fine.

Each of these seem to come with a standard ac adapter (US plug) but again it would be nice to power all 3 from 1 source.