Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Slightly interesting

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Not interesting

Votes: 2 40.0%

• Total voters

DavidH

Joined Dec 16, 2010
Hi, I'm trying my hand at making a power supply for a project that requires +5v +12v +33v, I would like anyone who may be able to help, to have a look at my schematic and board layout and see if there is any problems with it or any way it could be improved upon, I have tried to smooth the voltage before the bridge rectifiers and reduce the ripple after the voltage rectifiers, this is important for the final destination of the power supplies, this is my first attempt of designing such a project, but i have made several other projects from schematics and circuits web pages. any advice or suggestions would be most wellcome.
many thanks in advance for anyone willing to assist.

Attachments

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Hello, Welcome
About ur project, did you take the current requirements into account.
by the way..it would be wise to separate the high voltage ground form the low voltage ground.

I see that you have used series pass tr to increase the current provided.
Where did you actually get "those" diagrams?

DavidH

Joined Dec 16, 2010
Hi R!f@@,

The transformer is 3VA and the +33v bridge 3.05VA the 5v and 12v bridge is 1.5VA
I used the datasheets for the regulators, and a "texas instruments" paper on reducing ripple. to make up the schematic. I will seperate the high and low grounds as you advise, thanks

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
at 240VAC, a 3VA transformer will provide you with just a little more than 10 milliamp from your AC wall outlet. If your circuit tries to produce more current than the transformer can handle it will heat up then catch on fire. :)

I'm saying that it is a VERY small transformer for a power supply project.

You should get a much beefier one.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009