Power supply help

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Zyhpheigh, Dec 15, 2012.

1. Zyhpheigh

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 15, 2012
    Hi all, I have been making guitar pedals and amplifiers for a couple of years, most of which have been get schematic and follow it no real need to think about what goes where and why. Recently I have started making pedalboards and I need a power supply to run them off of. I started doing research and I realized that the power supply is the easiest thing to make but there aren't any good schematics out there. So I defer to all of you. I have a lot of questions so bare with me. I found this schematic http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/ss-ps4_sc.pdf
    It's a good starting point, but I need higher amps so can I still use it and just change out my transformers and regulators? The commercial power supplies can combine two outputs into one i.e. two 9v 100ma outputs into an 18v 100ma output, how does that work? And is that possible in this application? Any ideas and help are greatly appreciated.

2. bountyhunter

Sep 7, 2009
    How can we suggest a power supply if you don't define what voltage(s) and load currents are required to run the device in question? Is it 9V or 18 or something in between?

3. Zyhpheigh

Dec 15, 2012
    Oh sorry, I need 4-9v at 100 ma, 4- 12v at 60 ma. I would love it if I could combine two in to 18 v and 24 v

4. tubeguy

Nov 3, 2012
    ????
    So, do you really need 2-9v, 2-12v, and 1 each at 18v and 24v or do you need them selectable (combinable?)

Expert

Nov 30, 2010