Power supply for DMX to LED driver/decoder

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by clearmotions, Sep 30, 2014.

1. clearmotions

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 30, 2014
    Hi, I'm somewhat new to DIY electronics projects and could really use some help with a stage lighting project that I am piecing together.

I'd like to take this USB/DMX interface and make it communicate with an RGB decoder like this one. However, making them talk to each other is the easy part for me. My biggest question is how would I go about ensuring that I have the correct type of power source. It lists "DC9V-DC24V" as its input power. I am just wondering what kind of DC supply I should buy and also if this would provide enough power for, say, five 7' strands of regular RGB LED. I see that there are four leads on the board for power supply but I'm not sure what kind of supply I would actually need to connect to it.

Is there a way to calculate how much length of LED each channel could handle based on the input power?

Sorry if these are dumb questions, I'm somewhat new to the hardware side of things. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    The RGB controller has a limit of 1 amp per channel times 30 channels. Leds can be had anywhere from .02 amps each to a whole amp each. This information is missing from your post. What kind of LEDs?

This controller can distribute up to 30 amps, 1 amp per each of 30 channels.
    I'd say, 12V to 24VDC and several amps of capability, but that depends on your LED strings needs.

3. clearmotions

Sep 30, 2014
    Sorry, I knew there was something missing. Details below
    • Max 0.6 Amps per meter
    • Maximum 12V @ 60mA draw per strip segment

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Well, there you have it. 7 feet is 2.135 meters and that's more than an amp.
    Now..if you can split the red, and the green, and the blue into 3 channels, you can make it work that way. Possible? Or am I just guessing badly?

5. clearmotions

Sep 30, 2014