power supply board gives varying current

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by keenez, May 30, 2009.

1. keenez

Thread Starter New Member

May 30, 2009
    Hello,

I'm a newbie here. While I have some electronics knowledge, I'm not that knowledgeable so forgive me if this is a stupid question.

I had an LCD monitor that was malfunctioning. Opened it up and saw some bulging capacitors so I replaced them. The monitor worked fine for a day but then starting to turn on and off. It seems the power supply board, which supplies 12 V DC to a logic board is varying its output from 4V to 12V. When the logic board is not plugged in, the pins seem to supply a steady 12V DC. I was thinking that the problem was in the capacitor used in the rectifier/inverter circuitry but then, wouldn't the current alternate from the output pins to the logic board even without a load? Are there any other suggestions? I was thinking of the transformer. I also hear a "hissing" sound that is in time with the monitor turning on and off.

Thanks in advance.

2. PRS

Aug 24, 2008
    Is the supply switching with a regular period or randomly?

3. keenez

May 30, 2009
    It's switching with a regular period. About 4 seconds or so.

4. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Were the replacement caps rated for at least 25v?

Are there any tantalum or electrolytic caps on the logic board? Tantalum caps usually go out with a rather loud "bang", though.

Can you locate where the hissing is coming from? Try using some rubber tubing as a stethoscope, like the kind of tubing that's used in automotive vacuum lines or windshield washer systems.

Look very closely for signs of things heating up, or cracked solder joints.

5. keenez

May 30, 2009
    I replaced the caps with the same voltage and capacitance as the originals. They were all 25 V.