Power smoothing and explosion avoidance

spark_fingers

Joined Oct 22, 2011
I live in a country with 120VAC rms mains. I intend to build a high voltage/current dc power supply using an inline fuse, 1:1 isolation transformer, bridge rectifier, and filtering cap(s).

I'm new to ac and have a great deal of respect for it so I would like to iron out a few questions I had before continuing:

1. If I understand theory correctly, under no-load I should expect to see 120*sqrt(2) = ~170VDC. Under load, I understand this value will drop by a certain amount. Is there an equation that would help me identify what drop I would expect to see with say.. a 0.5A load vs a 1A load?
Additionally, is there a point where this drop "stops" per-se? I've read something about calculating under-load values with the equation VDC = (2*[VAC peak])/pi and am trying to figure out where this comes into play.

2. Is there a common way to to apply a load or drop the voltage so for a moderate range of loads, the voltage will remain somewhat steady?

3. What can be done to save the circuit in the event of a power surge?

I have a headache from reading about this all day, but at least I feel somewhat accomplished now. :D

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The loading effect is dependent on the impedance of the transformer. Performing voltage measurements at 1/2 amp and 1 amp load is a method to determine the amount of the loading effect and the impedance of the transformer. (1/2 amp is not a very large load.) There is no limit to the lowering of voltage because the load increases, only a change in the rate of voltage sag. Your equasion seems irrelavent.

DC voltage regulators are commonly used to assure a steady voltage, but it works by wasting a few volts to achieve stability.

Power surges on the input are absorbed by a device called a MOV. Fuses are used to protect the components in case of excess power on either side of the transformer.

Gotcha started?

Last edited:

Joined Nov 30, 2010