Power on delay with 555

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Franco_oz, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    I am trying to build a circuit to delay a relay of about 30sec. Idea is to receive a trig signal and switch relay on after a set amount of secs (about 30). I thought was possible to achive it with a 555 but all my attempts failed. Any suggestion?
     
  2. eblc1388

    Senior Member

    Nov 28, 2008
    1,542
    102
    You'll need to describe your problem more precisely.

    Do you want to relay to operate 30 seconds regardless after a trip signal is initiated or do you want it ONLY to operate if the trip signal remains stable for 30 second?

    How long would the relay output be? Fixed time or until trip signal reset?

    What is the signal? Voltage or contact closure?
     
  3. mik3

    Senior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    4,846
    63
  4. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    Hi Eblc, no i need to switch the relay ON after about 30sec since the signal is received. signal is a contact closure. Hi Mik, i tried it but it doesnt work. I didnt actually build the circuit, just tried it in LTSpice.
     
  5. mik3

    Senior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    4,846
    63
    If you post your circuit it would be helpful. What problems did you face?
     
  6. eblc1388

    Senior Member

    Nov 28, 2008
    1,542
    102
    1. A contact closes at t=0
    2. A relay operates after 30 seconds (i.e. at t=30s)

    Does the contact reset? Before or after 30 seconds?

    Does the relay resets? For how long?

    Edited: In many cases, a simple timing diagram will save all the troubles of asking those questions. An example is shown.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  7. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    No the relay once is on stays on till power is removed.
    I am having probs attaching the schematic, have a look, so far this is what i done and first 3 blocks work ok, just the last one i can't get to work. file://C:\Program Files\LTC\LTspiceIV\delay.asc Files\LTC\LTspiceIV\delay.asc
     
  8. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    here it is
     
  9. mik3

    Senior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    4,846
    63
    I can't open the file. Take a snap shot of the Spice window with the circuit in by using the print screen key on the keyboard and post it here as a jpg picture.
     
  10. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    ok try this one.
     
  11. mik3

    Senior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    4,846
    63
    First, for relay 3 to work you need to remove C9 from the circuit. Also, remove R10, it is not necessary, it juts waste power. What is the purpose of the last 555? What do you want it to do?
     
  12. eblc1388

    Senior Member

    Nov 28, 2008
    1,542
    102
    Is this what you want?

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    R10 is to simulate relay coil. I made a mistake with net naming and RLY3 is supposed to drive the last 555 which in turns should wait about 30sec before close last relay (R12). That is my problem, i can't get the last 555 to work as i thought it should. From an application note from Philips, you can use the 555 as a "delayed ON" where the monostable don't change the output until timer runs out.
    On http://home.cogeco.ca/~rpaisley4/LM555.html#29 example 20 shows similar circuitry but i can't get it to work.
     
  14. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    Heck Eblc, yes that is what i need! Dont give me the schematic, i want to understand what i am doing wrong....
     
  15. eblc1388

    Senior Member

    Nov 28, 2008
    1,542
    102
    No problem. I won't even if you ask, beg or threaten me later. :D
     
  16. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    ok this is the output i get and i assume i am doing something wrong with the trigger? Fact you got it running in no time shows me i am doing some very stupid mistake but i can't figure out what! May need some help here.
    Here is the updated schematic and its outputs. Also, how can you save waveforms on LTSpice?
     
  17. eblc1388

    Senior Member

    Nov 28, 2008
    1,542
    102
    Any screen capture program will do.

    Where is mik3 when you needs him most? :D
     
  18. mik3

    Senior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    4,846
    63
    Mik3 is here!;) Do you want the output of the last 555 to stay on for ever after the turn on delay?
     
  19. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    I need some hint here..... have checked and checked and can't work out the problem. Hate it!
     
  20. Franco_oz

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    60
    0
    Yes that is the idea.... but as said before..... it doesn't. What am i doing wrong?
     
Loading...