power consideration for a lock controlled from smart phone?

rasalll

Joined Sep 9, 2013
Hello,

My first post :)

I am working on a project where a door lock will be controlled from a smart phone. The mode of communication is low power bluetooth (BT 4.0). The battery constrain is 3V (CR2032). The microcontroller will usually be sleeping except when a connection is initiated from the phone only then will it wake up and process the request and go back to sleep.

my questions?
- should I use solenoid or a low power dc/stepper motor to lock the door and unlock it?
- my main concern is power, what factors should I be looking at?
- any suggestions on low power pic microcontrollers? Is nanowatt from microchip good?
- I would be using an led for low battery status, would that affect power?

I am a software developer and have little experience with hardware but I am really interested in designing hardware, so please help me out here

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
There is magnetic pulsed solenoids that are often used for locks where it is desirable the power is not on continuous.
These just require a DC pulse for each direction.
I am assuming more power will be available for the lock/unlock activation?
Max.

rasalll

Joined Sep 9, 2013
There is magnetic pulsed solenoids that are often used for locks where it is desirable the power is not on continuous.
These just require a DC pulse for each direction.
I am assuming more power will be available for the lock/unlock activation?
Max.
Thank you for the prompt reply. Do these solenoids go by 'magnetic pulsed solenoids' or is there a specific name?

Well the battery I am shooting for is the CR2032 which is only 3V rated at 240mAH. would that be an issue?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If you need to activate the lock with the low power battery, you need to discover the energy required to operate the door lock?
3v for the pulsed locks may be on the low side?
Max.

richard.cs

Joined Mar 3, 2012