Porting to MPLAB IDE

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by Dalaran, May 16, 2011.

  1. Dalaran

    Dalaran Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    I was using the demo version of mikroElectroikas software but soon turned out the 2k program size is not large enough. When going to MPLAB (using C language) I ended up with a few problems was hoping someone could help me on.

    First this is what I was using in mikro for setting up the LCD

    Code:
    sbit LCD_RS at RB4_bit;
    sbit LCD_EN at RB5_bit;
    sbit LCD_D4 at RB0_bit;
    sbit LCD_D5 at RB1_bit;
    sbit LCD_D6 at RB2_bit;
    sbit LCD_D7 at RB3_bit;
    
    sbit LCD_RS_Direction at TRISB4_bit;
    sbit LCD_EN_Direction at TRISB5_bit;
    sbit LCD_D4_Direction at TRISB0_bit;
    sbit LCD_D5_Direction at TRISB1_bit;
    sbit LCD_D6_Direction at TRISB2_bit;
    sbit LCD_D7_Direction at TRISB3_bit;
    But MPLAB doesn't seem to like these commands.

    Also, even with commenting all of these references out I get the following error when building:

    Code:
    Error   [491] ; . can't find 0x5C words for psect "rbss_0" in segment "BANK0"
    
    Any ideas?

    Thanks!

    edit: When I look through the Memory Usage Map, BANK0 of the Data Space section is almost completely full. As soon as I add a division or something like that it exceeds it and gives me the error. Any idea why this is occuring? How do I move to Bank1, etc.
    Last edited: May 16, 2011
  2. t06afre

    t06afre AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,939
    MPLAB is just an IDE. You must tell us which program language/compiler you use. And also name you MCU
  3. Dalaran

    Dalaran Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Thanks for the reply.

    I program in C.
    Hi-Tech C Complier.
    Using PIC16F886.
    EasyPic6 development board.

    Cheers.
  4. t06afre

    t06afre AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,939
    The sbit is something MicroC use to set bits in the SFRs. In Hitech C is done somewhat different. To understand take a look at the file pic16f886.h in the Hitech C compiler install folder (the include folder)
    So you can do something like this
    Code:
    #define LCD_RS RA3
    #define LCD_RW RA2
    #define LCD_EN RA1
    #define LCD_DATA PORTD
    .
    .
    .
    main
    {
     LCD_RW=1;
    LCD_DATA=0xfa;
    }
    
    But you better post your full MicroC code.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Programmer's Corner Importing a GUI Sep 2, 2014
Programmer's Corner Porting arduino help. Nov 13, 2012
Programmer's Corner Matlab importing filter structure. Mar 8, 2011
Programmer's Corner Importing wav files in MATLAB Mar 21, 2010
Programmer's Corner trouble downloading mplabx 2.26 ide Monday at 3:37 PM

Related Site Pages

Share This Page