Police lightbar

archangeljess

Joined Dec 27, 2013
Good day to everyone!

I am very new to electronics the fact is I just want to a police-like flashing light on my son's toy car. I have searched for the schematics and found one to work on. This is the schematic of it:

I have bought all of the parts at a local electronics shop. My problem is when i try to build this on a breadboard, nothing happens. Well maybe I made a mistake in mounting the parts. I am a complete novice on electronics. I am a programmer by profession and I thought having electronics knowledge would be great.

If somebody could guide me on this or suggest a tutorial on how to read and build from a schematic, it would be a really great help.

Thank you and God bless.

Jess.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
It might help for you to take a clear, well focused photograph of your breadboard and post it for us to look at.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I have designed several of these in my time, including high power versions. Mr. Chips idea is a very good one though.

There is an old open source saying, many eyes do bugs eliminate.

archangeljess

Joined Dec 27, 2013
Here is what I did on the breadboard:

I hope I haven't messed everything up. Thanks for the help guys.

P.S.
I appreciate you guys helping me and I didn't realize it was early in the morning your time. Its around 1PM Philippine time.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Check the vertical bus rails.
These could be discontinuous at the mid points at holes 30.
Install jumpers on all four rails.

archangeljess

Joined Dec 27, 2013
Check the vertical bus rails.
These could be discontinuous at the mid points at holes 30.
Install jumpers on all four rails.
I am very grateful for your reply but I am a complete novice. I really don't know where those holes are. There's nothing connected to hole 30. In the picture the breadboard is inverted.

Could you point this out for me? I'm sorry for being so stupid.

Thanks a lot.

Jess

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009