Polarized appliance power cord giving unusual voltages?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by GregSr, Mar 30, 2015.

1. GregSr

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 30, 2015
    I am an electronic tech with most of my experience in the PCB manufacturing industry. Usually I can diagnose and repair most household appliances - but this problem has me baffled. I'm not even sure it is a problem. We have one of those Showtime Rotisseries for cooking various meats. It uses a 1250 watt radiant heater element while rotating the meat to cook it. It has worked fine for years. The power cord is one of those two conductor polarized kinds. Well last night my wife tried to cook dinner on the rotisserie. The heater element stayed completely cold while the lights and motor continued to work normally. I assumed the element burned out. I opened the appliance up to discover that the spade connector on one end of the heater element had simply burned up and fell off. I used a crimp connector to reattach the broken connection to the heater element. I put everything back together, plugged it in and turned it on. Everything works as it should, including the heater element glowing cherry red hot. At this point I pat myself on the back and consider the repair a success.
    Now I'm getting to my question. With the appliance running, I measured for any voltage on the chassis relative to earth ground. Much to my surprise, my meter showed 115 VAC on the chassis of the rotisserie. When I switch the appliance off, the voltage goes to zero. If I run the appliance but not run the heater element, the chassis shows about 8 VAC. The power outlet I'm using is properly wired with a hot, neutral and ground. I confirmed that with one of those LED outlet testers. The outlet is protected by a GFCI device. I tested that also. It does not trip when running the appliance.