PNP "Wire Break" Circuit Help

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by nullsys, May 20, 2012.

1. nullsys

Thread Starter New Member

May 20, 2012
    Hello,
    I'm hoping you can help.
    As far as I can tell, the circuit works using Yenka simulation software, but I'm loathed to subject my poor PNP transistor to testing, just in case ;)

Here's a lil info:
    I wanted to make a simple - "If the wire breaks, the led comes on" circuit. This is my first attempt, as I say, it appears to work.

Details:
    S1 closed, no LED.
    S1 open, LED.

S1 is of course simulating a wire break.

[​IMG]

What I'm concerned about is that if I remove the 47 Ohm resistor, the circuit fails, and the simulation "blows up" several components.
    But, does this really mean the circuit is safe with it there?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

2. absf

Dec 29, 2010
    Removing the 47 ohm is the same as pushing the other button on the right. It affectively disconnect the battery from your circuit and I dont see how any other components can be affected (get blown).:D

May be it's time for you to get your hands dirty and construct the circuit on a breadboard. even something get spoiled, it wouldnt cost you more then 50 cents to replace it except the battery. :p

Allen

3. R!f@@

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 2, 2009
    There is two situations tht arise from what u ask ?

Remove the 47Ω R.
    Now what I am thinking is tht once u remove the resistor u will leave the connections as it is. In this case nothing will happen .
    When u take the 47Ω R u will be breaking a connection in the power line. Without power, LED won't light and the circuit simply won't work. So there is nothing to blow.

The real question is, Are u connecting the two points where the resistor is connected after u remove it. If this is the case, U circuit will definitely blow up.
    It will blow up because without that resistor u are simply short circuiting the 9V battery.