Plumbing Project Gone Awry

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
Yesterday, I started an effort to clear a blockage from my 60 year old cast iron drainage pipes. Before it was over, the rusty, old pipes were cracked and leaking. So today I am replacing the old iron P-traps with PVC. First order of business is cutting the old pipe. All I have is a sazall and some diamond blades (at Home Depot). I don't have access to a snap cutter. I've never tried this before and not sure what I'm in for. Well, wish me luck.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
I love the sawzall. Best invention ever in tools. It is probably of my least use tools but when I need it I am really glad I had it.

I needed to replace a cracked closet flange. I used the sawzall for that job. While not as near as wide as a drain and it was PVC I was able to do a decent job.

If you can't get in there with even a saezall, you have access to Home Depot. They rent pretty much every tool going.

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
Been reading up on how to cut the cast iron. Seems like a special tool was needed in the past, but new diamond blades make the sazall the tool of choice, especially conisdering the tight quarters I'm working in. I'll let ya'll know how it went at the end of the day.

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
Any old bi-metal blade will cut it.

A cutoff wheel in an angle grinder works where there is no fire hazard.

And a bfh is always an option.:D Cut part way and hammer blow.

When I first moved in my old house I installed iron. Hot lead and oakum! sp.?
Used the chain type cutter referred to in first post.
Who invented that anyway?:eek: Tight enough and it snaps clean. The world would still be waiting on me!

Had to dig a basmt by hand. Missed PVC by about two years.:(

Good luck it's a hard messy job.

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
Just be glad it's not threaded pipe. Soon all the real plumbers will be gone.