Plot freq vs. dBm on computer

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by PeteB, Oct 10, 2009.

1. PeteB

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 10, 2009
    G'day all,

I was doing a search on the www (world wide wait) in an attempt to get some information to start a project that I would like to build and I found a link to this forum. Looks like I it paydirt as I've done some browsing of this forum and there is certainly an incredible amount of knowledge behind it. I also did some seraching in the forum, but haven't found anything that appears to help with my intended project (although my search terms may not have been great).

I work in the field of technical support for office equipment and one of my responsibilities is fax support. Most well engineered fax machines have a setting that allows a technician to adjust tx and rx cable eqalistaion to compensate for the frequency response (or "slope") of the line. The problem I face is most techs do not not have access to sophisticated equipment required to measure line slope, so I want to build a (relatively) simple device that will plot frequency vs. dBm on a computer. The premise for the project follows.

The project will have a hardware component and a software component. The technician will connect the hardware component across the telephone line and while the fax machine is receiving, the project will plot a graph on the computer of frequency vs. dBm between 300Hz and 3400Hz at 500Hz intervals. The dBm levels at each frequency will be average over the period of the communcaition, which the tech can control to about a minute. Most telecomms systems use a complex impedance, but I'm happy to start by basing the measurments on a 600 Ohm load. Connection between the device and the computer can be serial, parallel or USB.