Please help - Nodal Analysis

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Tesla_, Jan 16, 2014.

1. Tesla_

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 16, 2014
    Hi everyone. I really would appreciate some help. I'm a first year engineering student. I need to find the voltage at V1 on the circuit I have attached via nodal analysis. However, the 20ia is confusing me, stopping me in my tracks after applying Kirchoff's current law at V1. Please help! :confused:

2. studiot

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 9, 2007
    Hello tesla, good luck with your studies.

Please tell us what you found when you applied KCL to V1.

3. Tesla_

Jan 16, 2014
    I have attached my work so far. I haven't found a value for v1 yet at I am unsure as to how to include 20ia into my working.

4. studiot

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 9, 2007
    What sign convention are you using for your node currents?
    Edit sorry I should have said branch currents.

As written they all seem to indicate that current only flows into or out of nodes V1 and V2.

It is a good idea to assume directions and label the diagram accordingly so that no node has all current flowing in (or out).

Last edited: Jan 16, 2014
  5. Tesla_

Jan 16, 2014
    The sign convention I am using is:
    1) if current is flowing into a node, designate it as a negative current.
    2) if current is flowing out of a node, designate it as a positive current.

6. t_n_k

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 6, 2009
    Presumably the 20ia source is a current controlled voltage source rather than a current controlled current source.

The second KCL equation at the node designated V2 is therefore incorrect. V2 would simply be noted as -20*ia volts.

Hopefully the OP is familiar with controlled sources and the means of dealing with them in circuit analysis.

7. studiot

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 9, 2007
    Why do you say this?

It seems to be labelled as a current controlled current source in the diagram, but the direction is important.

8. t_n_k

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 6, 2009
    Yep - my mistake. Thanks.