Please Help-New to 8051!!

tarun31

Joined Jan 11, 2012
Hi Guys,
I am a bit new to the 8051 microcontroller..i have a basic question to ask. Whenever we are using a pin as a input we have to write a 1 to the i/o register. Now this will make the pin an input and due to the internal pull up resistor this pin will also become high when configured as an input. Now if i wanted to read a high input on this pin how can i do it(without using any gates)???? really confused please help..????

sach_blue

Joined Jan 11, 2012
hi, you can read status of pin by reading port register. The port must be programmed by writing 1 to all the bits. Writing 1 will enable input. you should refer internal pin diagram.
Below is the program to read status of pins
MOV A,#0FFH ;A=FF hex
MOV P0,A ;make P0 an i/p port
;by writing it all 1s
BACK: MOV A,P0 ;get data from P0
MOV P1,A ;send it to port 1
SJMP BACK ;keep doing it
You can read tutorials from
http://embeddedcraft.org/8051tutorials.html#top

jimkeith

Joined Oct 26, 2011
Now if i wanted to read a high input on this pin how can i do it(without using any gates)????
If nothing is connected to the input, it will read a logic high. Any logic device driving the input must overcome the pullup resistor current to output a logic low.

The internal pullup resistor current is easily handled by the logic output that is driving the uC input pin. Depending upon which port is being used, there are two pullups that are turned on simultaneously--one is a strong, high-current pullup (perhaps 20mA) that turns on for only 1 clock cycle--it enables the output to make a fast transition from low to high even when there are numerous capacitive loads (gate inputs) connected--the other pullup is a weak pinch resistor source that runs perhaps 100uA that is intended to be strong enough to keep the input high after the strong pullup is turned off a clock cycle later.

When configured as an input, only the weak pullup is present.