Please help me with LED lights

luisfsds

Joined Oct 15, 2008
Hi
I am planning to produce a sort of computer shelving unit which will be decorated with LED lights, preferably blue. I am think of having about a maximum of 15 blue LED's which will be shun through acrylic, which will be connected to the USB port ( supplies 5volts DC). I am realy stuck on which are the best LED's suited for my project and what else i need like resistors and watt resistors. Please help. Some explanations would also be useful as I am a bit new to electronics. :D

Luis

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
If you select one LED at a time, your USB port may be ok. If you want all 15 on bright, you will need more power. I would limit the current from a USB port to 50 mills.

luisfsds

Joined Oct 15, 2008
hey thx for your guys adive it realy helped. Seeing as you guys say that the usb power is a bit too low how would i exactly plug it into the computer power supply which i think is 12volts?

luisfsds

Joined Oct 15, 2008
oh sorry i forgot to mention when i did the caluclation thing with the site it said i should get a resistor with a 1/8 power rating and all the ones i have seen have a 0,6 watt power rating, what does that actually mean and will it make a difference?:confused:

luisfsds

Joined Oct 15, 2008
WOW!!!:p You guys are fast haha thx so much helped loads. hopefully i will later on post a picture when i finish thx a bunch

karthik_dm

Joined Oct 16, 2008
Hi
I am planning to produce a sort of computer shelving unit which will be decorated with LED lights, preferably blue. I am think of having about a maximum of 15 blue LED's which will be shun through acrylic, which will be connected to the USB port ( supplies 5volts DC). I am realy stuck on which are the best LED's suited for my project and what else i need like resistors and watt resistors. Please help. Some explanations would also be useful as I am a bit new to electronics. :D

Luis