Please help me with a project!

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by furbious, Sep 27, 2012.

1. furbious

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 27, 2012
    Hi there,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to electronics. But, I am a craftyish person have a project that won't stop bugging me until I've made it.

My boyfriend loves Portal, insanely so. I want to make him a companion cube storage box with glowing hearts for our anniversary. (Please look up companion cubes if you're unfamiliar with them!) What I want to do is have a smallish storage box covered with fabric/vinyl, and have the hearts with a clear or red transparent cover over a cluster of LEDs that glow/throb. I'd like all six sides to throb in unison, and to all run from one battery/power pack that's hidden in the bottom of the box. I'd also like it to be able to be turned on and off with a switch or button or something. The approx size I'm looking at is a box 6" cubed, so the furthest cluster would be around 15-18" away from the circuit.

I've looked up some websites and tutorials etc and you guys lost me somewhere between breadboards and 555 somethings. I think I understand how to get one LED to throb, but it's attached to the circuit/breadboard and I don't understand how to get six strings of LEDs to run from one circuit. Is that even possible?

tl;dr I would like to know how to have six clusters of 3 LEDs to throb in unison and run off one power supply, ie a battery pack, and have the clusters able to be at some length away from the circuit.

If anyone has some information, or if you've got a tutorial that I haven't managed to find, I would greatly appreciate it!

2. pityocamptes

Jul 25, 2012
  3. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    Try here:
    If you put into the boxes:
    18 LEDs
    it will show you how to wire it up, just change the values as required. If it gives you a very small resistor value (<20 ohms) check back here for advice, sometimes the wizard gives bad advice.