Please help me....noob here!

surajdn

Joined Jan 5, 2012
Hello Everyone,
I may sound very stupid and silly but I am new to the world of ucs... I just learnt programming 8051 at college and I love ucs and I want to get good at it and I am really good at programming what I lack is the knowledge of the hardware part of it. Specially the recently developed technologies in ucs.
Here are my questions:
After using 8051, I really believe that I could do almost anything with just 8051 so I have started to think 8051 is just good enough except when one needs more RAM or speed or ROM and yes the RTC.
So am I right here? Why the PIC family and most importantly whats this arduino thing? why use it when you can do so much with just any other uc? I am so happy with 8051 but I just go dizzy when all the forums are talking so much about so many different ucs. please tell me what I am missing and what I must read. I have just read one book "The 8051 Microcontroller And Embedded Systems Using Assembly And C" by Mazidi. So tell me what other books I MUST read.
I don't know whats I2C and I just know what is ISP.
How does a programmer really put the code into the chip? for example, what ports should be activated? what voltages etc...
please answer my questions I would really grateful to you

SPQR

Joined Nov 4, 2011
Hi and welcome.

HERE's a little blurb on the Arduino.
It was developed more as an accessible teaching tool in terms of microcontrollers.
Since then it has evolved to be a very reasonable platform that is easy to use and program.

You can get simple projects up and running in less than 10 minutes, and there is no soldering necessary.

There are many different sizes and shapes, so if you just have a few I/O lines, you can use a tiny one, or if you have lots of I/O, you can use a large one - the C code is all the same and very easy to do.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Hi Noob!