please help me... IC tester using microcontroller

gracey

Joined Feb 19, 2011
hello everyone..

Im currently making my project "digital IC tester" using PIC16f877a..
Im going to test 74-series IC's specifically AND, OR, NAND, NOR, XOR, XNOR and INVERTER.. Im planning to use portB for the output (pins of the IC using socket), portC for the input portD for the keypad and portA for the 7 LED.The LED serve as the indicator that the IC is in good condition... This is my idea for the hardware.. my problem is the program.. Im new in microcontroller that why I had a hard time in doing this project...

any help would be highly appreciated...

by the way I tried mikrobasic for the program..

Last edited:

gracey

Joined Feb 19, 2011
Yes,..the flow goes like these:

ex: for AND gate..
::check the 4 gates within the IC
::4 LED lights up which indicate that all the gates are okey and and 1 LED indicates that the IC is in good condition,.
::else, if one of the gates is damaged only the 3 LED show lights..

Im not good enough in programming, can you help me a bit for the codes??

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Yes,..the flow goes like these:

Im not good enough in programming, can you help me a bit for the codes??

Then you first need to teach yourself to program.

Again another post that should be in the embedded forum.

You are trying to do a too big of a project with limited knowledge. You need to start simple then the big project will become much easier.

Your tester will basically do two things. It will turn something on / off and it will sense something is on / off.

There are many examples of how to turn an LED on and off in Mikro basic. Start with one of those examples. You will then use this knowledge to manipulate the inputs to your chips under test and to turn on your LEDs.

There are also examples of sensing a push button switch. Use this examples to learn how to apply the knowledge to sensing the output of your gate under test.

gracey

Joined Feb 19, 2011