Please help me choose a transistor

luv2code

Joined Jun 16, 2008
Here's the diagram:

The description of my project is on this thread. The Arduino MC has an ATMega168, and the Input and Output [O] pins are +5v signals.

I need help choosing a component for the "MOSFET" spot. I've looked on mouser and digikey; but I'm unable to find what I need. I'm just learning this stuff, so if you could find a part that will fit in that spot on either website, please link to it and tell me your search terms and why you used them (teach a man to fish).

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
What you have drawn is a P-channel mosfet. The mosfet supply is 12V, but the MC is only 5V, so you will probably have problems with the gate drive.

I suggest using a logic-level N-channel mosfet. At only 200 mA, almost any of the small ones will work. Most important, put the mosfet switch to ground, i.e., low-side, and have the camera connected to the +12V. So, you will have camera to +12V, ground on camera to drain of mosfet source on mosfet to ground. The gate may need a small resistor, say 10 ohm. John

Edit: I have used a 2N7002 directly from a PIC MC to act as a switch with a 5V gate. You may need a resistor from gate to ground to turn the gate off. I checked Digikey, and most of the other small mosfets seem to be surface mount. Are you willing to go that route?

Last edited:

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Don't forget to total up all of your current demands to get an idea of how long your batteries are going to last.

If you're using alkaline batteries rated at 3000mAh, and your load is just the camera (200mA @ 12v) and the boost converter is 92% efficient, then:
RunTime = 3000mAh / 2 *.92 / 200mA
RunTime = 6.9 hours.