Please help fixing this thing! PEMF machine

petit

Joined Jan 24, 2013
Hi Guys,
newbie here trying to fix a machine for a friend.
I have here a PEMF (pused electromagnetic field therapy) machine from a good friend of mine, who use it to help horses.
He bought this machine in the eighties in Germany, unable to find a diagrams, I cant even find the manufacturer online.
So anyway, the machine powers up and everything seems to work correctly but, there is no output signal to the pads.
The machine is supposed to send electric pulses to the pads, the pad has a coil inside, so if a magnet is place next to the pad you can feel the magnet pulsating, but that is not happening.
The first thing i found was a shorted zener after the toroidal transformer, i changed it and it didnt make any difference, still not working.
after that, i started troubleshooting the Vreg, long story short, i shorted the vreg and burned one of the IC's.
i ordered all of them and i changed almost all of them until i fixed the mess i made, so all of the CD4000 and 1 of the 555 timer are new.
after i fixed my mess, i havent been able to find the original problem, so i started changing parts like a mad man, i have change already besides the CMOS chips, two filter caps next to the transformer, two tantalum caps, one metal can transistor and a couple of diodes. i also check the SCR on the output side and is fine.
wondering if anyone can give me a hand with this, i really appreciate it
Thanks a lot!

pemf1.jpg

pemf1.jpg

pemf15.jpg

pemf2.jpg

pemf3(front).jpg

pemf6.jpg

pemf18.jpg

pemf15.jpg

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
This is interesting. Can a horse really benefit from a placebo effect when the horse doesn't know what the machine is supposed to do?

petit

Joined Jan 24, 2013
This is interesting. Can a horse really benefit from a placebo effect when the horse doesn't know what the machine is supposed to do?