plc programing

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by genelation, Oct 17, 2009.

1. genelation

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 17, 2009
    Hi Guys

I am an electrician for 23 yrs but i have never done any plc programing. I would like to learn how to do this. I am trying to program a eaton plc but of coarse they do not write program for but i need to know how to get started. the program language seems like greek to me. What is the easiest way to learn thia stuff. keep in mind i dont know anything about this stuff.
    I am a master electrician but this is a different world. help please.

2. JDT

Feb 12, 2009
    Well, the best way for anything like this is to dive in and have a go!

You need a PLC, the programming software, a cable to connect your PC to the PLC and the programming manual. Hopefully that will have some simple examples to get you started.

Get a bank of about 8 switches that you can connect to some inputs. The outputs usually have LED's so you can see what they are doing.

Think of a simple application. Traffic lights are a typical example. They switch in sequence. Some of your inputs will represent vehicle detector pads in the road. Other inputs might simulate a pedestrian crossing request button for example.

Write down what you want it to do before you start. Most PLC's can be programmed in "relay" ladder logic where in software you are simulating a circuit. If you have problems try Googling for the answer.

More advanced PLC programs will use a "State Machine" approach. This can be done easily in ladder logic.

liming likes this.
  3. bluebrakes

Oct 17, 2009
    writing in ladder logic is probably going to be the easiest way to start. Especially considering its a visual approach.

Some companies actually do courses, such as siemens, allen&bradley, kuka. Might be worth contacting them?

4. gerty

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 30, 2007
    liming and Chalma like this.
  5. james kilcullen

Oct 1, 2014