PLC ladder Logic help

aakanni

Joined Apr 19, 2008
I am fairly new to PLC programming. I have a fairly complex assignment I am trying to write ladder logic for and need some assistance. Any help would be greatly appreciated. The task is as follows:

1. A pallet will be loaded on position 1.
2. The Operator will press the start button.
3. Conveyor 1 will move the pallet until it breaks the position 1 light sensor.
4. If position 2 is free, the pallet has to move until it breaks the position 2 sensor.
5. Once a pallet is on position 2, the centering bars have to close and remain closed for a predetermined time (3 seconds) before opening again.
6. Once the load has been centered, and if the sensor on the machine is free, the pallet will move under the machine. Once the pallet is under the machine we have to send a signal to start the machine
7. The pallet will stay there until the machine sends a signal that it has finished hooding the pallet.
8. If conveyor 4 is free the pallet will move until it breaks the position 4 light sensor and then the pallet will stay there.

Inputs and Outputs - all inputs are normally open
I1: PB Start I7: Pos 2 Sensor O1: FWD Pos1
I2: PB Stop I8: Centering Closed O2: FWD Pos2
I3: E-Stop I9: Centering Opened O4: FWD Pos4
I4: SafetyDoor1 I10: Pos 3 Sensor O3: FWD Pos3
I5: SafetyDoor2 I11: Machine Done O5: Centering Close
I6: Pos 1 Sensor I12: Pos 4 Sensor O6: Centering Open
O7: Run Machine

Consider the following in your logic:
The system has two safety doors and an e-stop; when any of those are activated all movement must stop. When the safety doors and e-stop are cleared the operator must press start again to continue line automation.
If no data type was specified for some information then you can choose the data type yourself.
You may add buttons/inputs/outputs if you need to.